Next Hometown Event is Tonight, August 21, at The Studios of Key West, at 5 PM


“My vote is my voice…and the voice of all who struggled, so that I may have my voice.”
(Lyida C. Obasi)


Hometown!’s “MEET THE CANDIDATES” Rally
at The Studios of Key West
533 Eaton Street–2nd Floor
On Friday, August 21, 2015
5:00 P.M. TO 7:30 PM

This will be a timely event because all 2015 candidates must qualify by noon on this date. Key West’s Hometown! will present all candidates running for office in the upcoming October 6, 2015, General Election. The event will be held on Friday, August 21, at The Studios of Key West (“TSKW”) 533 Eaton Street–2nd Floor, in Key West. There will be food and a cash bar. All citizens are invited. There is no charge for this event. We would appreciate, however, your consideration about becoming a 2015 member, if you have not already done so.

There will be a social from 5:00-5:30 p.m. Beginning at approximately 5:30 p.m., all 2015 candidates will be afforded an opportunity to take the microphone and introduce themselves to the voters and speak on the issues important to their individual races. Each candidate will be given two minutes.

After the 2015 candidates have spoken at the “Meet the Candidates” event, 2016 candidates who have pre-filed or qualified on or before August 21, with the Monroe County Supervisor of Elections or the Department of Elections/ Florida Department of State to be a candidate for election to office in 2016 will then be invited to make a brief presentation to the voters.

If candidates wish to set up campaign exhibits and distribute their campaign materials, etc, please do not bring tables. TSKW will provide six- (6)- foot tables that can be shared by two candidates. TSKW would appreciate being advised as to how many candidates need table space. Please send an email to Sheldon Davidson at [email protected].

Following the presentations by the 2016 candidates, the public will have time to speak one-on-one with those running for office. This event is designed to allow voters to engage the candidates in conversation about their views of the issues.

For those who cannot attend the “Meet the Candidates” event, will be recoding the event. THERE WILL BE LIVE STREAMING OF THIS EVENT. The recording will be posted to the YouTube channel. The YouTube video will remain available on the same YouTube channel throughout the campaign season.

NOTE: The recording of the July 15, “Call for Candidates” at Salute is available for viewing on the Hometown Key West YouTube channel. Photographs of that event can be seen on the Hometown website, Click the the Photo Gallery icon on the Home page.

All candidates should contact Board Members Mark Bailey–304-8690, or contact Sheldon Davidson at 305-295-3560 or you can email him at [email protected] to confirm your attendance and to ensure that your name is on the speakers’ list.

2015 Elections

In 2015, a General Election (not a primary) will be held on Tuesday, October 6. If required, a Runoff Election will be held on Tuesday, November 3.

Qualifying Period for Candidates begins on August 17 at 12 Noon and ends on August 21 at 12 Noon.

The duly elected Commissioners shall each serve a three-year term. Utility Board Members shall each serve a three-year term.

Any person elected to represent a district shall maintain residency in that district for the term of office.

Those elected shall be sworn in and assume office at Noon on the Second day following Certification of the results of the election.

2015 Incumbents and Candidates:

City Commissioner and Utility Board Elections are non-partisan. 2015 Candidates for these offices do not run as representatives of any political party. If there are three or more candidates for a particular office and none of the three receives a majority vote (50%+1) the top two vote getters go to the Runoff Election on November 3.

Commissioner District II Mark Rossi–3-year term (has announced that he will not run for re-election)
Candidates: (1) Samuel J. Kaufman; (2) Robert (Skip) O’Neil II; and (3) Morgan McPherson

Pictures of the three Candidates have been published on the Hometown website:
Please click on the Candidates icon on the Home page.)

Commissioner District IV Tony Yaniz–3-year term (Incumbent) (Photo on the website)
Other Candidate: Richard G. Payne (Photo on the website)

Commissioner District V Teri Johnston–3-year term (has announced that she will not run for re-election)
Candidate: Mike Mongo (Photo on the website)
Candidate: Margaret Romero (Photo on the website)

Utility Board Member G1 Barry Barroso—3-year term (Incumbent) (Has withdrawn–announced that he will not qualify to be on ballot)
Candidate: Steven Wells, Sr. (Recently announced—photo will be posted when received)
Candidate: Donna M. Bosold (Photo on the website)
Candidate: Jim Marquardt (Recently announced–photo will be posted when received)

Utility Board Member G4 Mona Clark —-3-year term (Incumbent) (Photo on the website)
Other Candidates: Christine Gorham (Photo on the website)

Utility Board Member G5 Charlie Bradford–3-year term (Incumbent) (Photo on the website)
Other Candidate: Thomas Milone (Photo on the website)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.